battlefield

I am so amazed by the strength that people have. I cannot imagine the gory, bloody, heart wrenching experiences that others have had to face.

And they can sit at a table with friends and find the peace within themselves to be happy. To not accept that every moment is as horrible as those when they are face-to-face with their demons.

They slip up. They have others judge and evaluate and worry for them. They cause grief along their pathway. There is a residue of destruction that can follow them.

But they find the heart to patch up that path. To clear it and to say “THAT IS NOT ME”

That is someone who has hurt me. That is something that I had no power over. That is something that I cannot understand, but God will get me through.

I can only superficially feel their pain. I can only pray that I never experience it any deeper than that. I can only open my arms to those friends.

When you cannot even escape your worst fears in your dreams, where do you turn to for solitude? Where do you find tranquility? Is it in the space of a notebook; in the corner of a coffee shop; under a warm cover? What can comfort in a time when there seems to be no hope?

Where do you find the love and strength and power to repair your broken heart and mind and soul…


Poem written on Feb. 22, 2014
Poem published on Nov. 11, 2014

Leave a comment